Recipes

quick & easy korean bbq

finaldish

I am all about quick and easy meals, especially during the week.  That is why when I came across this recipe on Pinterest during lunch today, I just had to try it – tonight!  Luckily I already had all the ingredients (except for the sesame seeds).  I only took out 1 pound of meat this morning before leaving for work so thats all I made, but I would recommend doubling the recipe so you have some leftovers.  What made this dish even easier, is that I already had cooked rice in the fridge from another night’s dinner leftovers.  This dish literally took me 15 minutes from start to finish.  That is why I would HIGHLY recommend you try this, and make sure to keep these ingredients on hand because this could be such an easy, quick, no plans for dinner kind of meal.  The flavors were all there, as if it had been cooking for a couple of hours, which suprised me, again this only took me 15 minutes.  I think I may add some more roasted red pepper flakes the next time, I like spicy and think I would enjoy it even more if it had a tad bit more heat to it.  I am thinking of adding some vegetables to this also, I really do enjoy some veggies at dinner.

Ingredients:
1/4 cup brown sugar, packed
1/4 cup reduced sodium soy sauce
2 teaspoons sesame oil
1/2 teaspoon crushed red-pepper flakes, or more to taste
1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 pound ground beef
2 green onions, thinly sliced
1/4 teaspoon sesame seeds

Directions:
In a small bowl, whisk together brown sugar, soy sauce, sesame oil, red pepper flakes and ginger.  Heat vegetable oil in a large skillet over medium high heat. Add garlic and cook, stirring constantly, until fragrant, about 1 minute. Add ground beef and cook until browned, about 3-5 minutes, making sure to crumble the beef as it cooks; drain excess fat.  Stir in soy sauce mixture and green onions until well combined, allowing to simmer until heated through, about 2 minutes.  Serve over rice immediately, garnished with green onion and sesame seeds, if desired.

Try it out and let me know your thoughts!
xox jess

2 thoughts on “quick & easy korean bbq”

  1. I love quick & easy meals! I try not to give my husband red meat. Since you made the recipe what do you think on using turkey or chicken? Also I don’t do to well with spice, if following the recipe 1 thru 5 how spicy is it?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

