Recipes

homemade Indian takeout

indian 1

I love Indian food but living in Central PA, there are not many options for take out.  I got the fantastic idea to make my own from my brother-in-law.  His looked and smelled so good, I just had to get some tips from him.  It is actually very simple, although I never measure anything so I apologize if this is tough to follow but I will try to guesstimate.

Ingredients:
2-3 chicken breasts (cut into small strips)
3 cups rice
1 onion
3 zucchini
4 carrots
snow peas (just a handful or 2)
1 cup frozen peas
2 jars Pataks Tikka Masala Curry Simmering Sauce
1 can coconut milk
ground turmeric powder
ground curry powder
fresh cilantro (handful chopped up)
salt and pepper to taste

Directions:
Cook rice to package directions.

Heat large dutch oven on medium high heat, spray with coconut oil to coat the bottom of the pan.  Sprinkle chicken with salt, pepper and ground turmeric.  Saute chicken until cooked, about 10 minutes.  Add in onion, carrot and zucchini.  Cook for an additional 10 minutes.  While the vegetables are sauteing, make your curry sauce.  Pour both jars of tikka masala sauce into a saucepan, heat on medium-high heat.  Fill the jars with about 1/3 each of coconut milk.  Put the lids on and shake like crazy.  My brother-in-law gave me this tip to get all the spices that settled to the bottom.  Pour into your sauce. Add in 1-2 tablespoons of curry and 1 tablespoon of turmeric.  You may need to add more depending on your spice level preference.  Once the sauce heats through, add to your chicken and veggies.  Throw the snow peas and frozen peas in.  Season with salt and pepper.  Cover and cook on medium- high heat for an additional 10 minutes.  Serve over a bed of rice and garnish with fresh cilantro.

Let me know your ideas for Indian takeout (or any homemade takeout!), I am always looking for something new!

Enjoy!
xox jess

Leave a Reply

