Recipes

shrimp and linguine


I LOVE to cook and my Granny LOVED to cook as well.  She was a great cook!  I have so many of her recipes passed down from my mom.  I remember when I was younger, cooking with her in her mint green kitchen :).  I have so many memories making pierogies, cookies, spaghetti sauce and her famous shrimp and linguine.  I like to think I got my joy and passion for cooking (and baking) from her.  After she passed away in ’95, my mom continued to make a lot of her recipes.  Shrimp and linguine was always one of my favorites.  It’s such a light, flavorful, refreshing meal (and super easy to make) – it has quickly become one of my husbands favorite go to requests.  See for yourself why this is a keeper and should be added to your recipe book.  Let me know what you think!

Ingredients:
2 lbs raw medium shrimp (peeled and deveined)
1/2 cup butter
1 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons grated lemon peel
6 cloves garlic, crushed
1/4 cup fresh chopped parsley
2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
2 packs fresh linguine, cooked
lemon wedges

Directions:
Preheat oven to 400°F.  Wash shrimp under running water, drain on paper towel. Melt butter in 13″x 9″x 2″ baking dish in oven.  Add salt, garlic and 1 tablespoon of parsley, mix well.  Arrange shrimp in single layer, bake uncovered for 5 minutes.  Turn shrimp, sprinkle with lemon peel, lemon juice, and remaining parsley.  Bake 8-10 minutes, or just until tender.  Arrange hot linguine on platter and mix in shrimp.  Pour garlic butter over shrimp and linguine.  Serve with lemon wedges.

Enjoy!
xox jess

Leave a Reply

